19th Workshop on Advances in Parallel and Distributed Computational Models

APDCM2017 May 29, 2017, to be held in conjunction with

31st IEEE International Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium

IPDPS May 29 – June 2, 2017, Buena Vista Palace Hotel, Orlando, Florida USA

Call for Papers

The past twenty years have seen a flurry of activity in the area of parallel and distributed computing. In recent years, novel parallel and distributed computational models have been proposed in the literature, reflecting advances in new computational devices and environments such as optical interconnects, programmable logic arrays, networks of workstations, radio communications, mobile computing, DNA computing, quantum computing, sensor networks etc. It is very encouraging to note that the advent of these new models has lead to significant advances in the resolution of various difficult problems of practical interest.

The main goal of this workshop is to provide a timely forum for the exchange and dissemination of new ideas, techniques and research in the field of the parallel and distributed computational models. The workshop is meant to bring together researchers and practitioners interested in all aspects of parallel and distributed computing taken in an inclusive, rather than exclusive, sense. We are convinced that the workshop atmosphere will be conducive to open and mutually beneficial exchanges of ideas between the participants.


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to

Models of Parallel and Distributed Computing

Radio communication models, Mobile computing models, Sensor network models, Hardware-specific models, FPGA models, Systolic arrays and cellular automata, peer-to-peer models, Biologically-based computing models, Quantum models, Reconfigurable models, Optical models, CUDA, OpenCL, GPU computing models, BSP and LogP models

Algorithms and Applications

Geometric and graph algorithms, Combinatorial algorithms, Randomized and approximation techniques, Numerical algorithms, Network algorithms, Localized algorithms, Distributed algorithms, Image processing, High-performance computing, GPU applications, MapReduce

Practical Aspects

Architectural and implementation issues, Performance analysis and simulation, PVM/MPI, Multi-core processors, Programmable logic arrays, GPGPU, Design of network protocols, Embedded systems, Cloud computing, Cluster Computing, Development tools, Fault tolerance, Security Issues

Submission Guidelines

Prospective authors are encouraged to submit an electronic version of original, unpublished manuscripts, not to exceed 10 pages using Manuscript Templates for Conference Proceedings. We also welcome comprehensive survey papers on timely topics. Abstracts must be registered through EasyChair by January 26, 2017. After the abstract registration, the PDF of the paper must be submitted by January 31, 2017. Youn can update abstract and the PDF anytime before the due dates.

Important Dates

  • All daetes are in UTC and submission must be done by 23:59PM in UTC.
  • Abstract registration due: January 15, 2017 January 26, 2017 (extended)
  • Full paper submission due: January 20, 2017 January 31, 2017 (extended)
  • Notification: February 20, 2017
  • Final manuscript due: around March 15, 2017


Workshop co-Chairs

  • Oscar H. Ibarra, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Koji Nakano, Hiroshima University

Program co-Chairs

  • Akihiro Fujiwara, Kyushu Institute of Technology
  • Susumu Matsumae, Saga University

Program Committee

  • Jacir Bordim, University of Brasília
  • Jens Breitbart, TUM
  • Gianlorenzo D'Angelo, Gran Sasso Science Institute
  • Ajoy K. Datta, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Stéphane Devismes, VERIMAG UMR 5104
  • Swan Dubois, UPMC Sorbonne Universités & Inria
  • Martti Forsell, VTT
  • Satoshi Fujita, Hiroshima University
  • Liang Hong Tennessee State University
  • Shuichi Ichikawa, Toyohashi University of Technology
  • Fumihiko Ino, Osaka University
  • Yasushi Inoguchi JAIST
  • Yasuaki Ito, Hiroshima University
  • Chuzo Iwamoto, Hiroshima University
  • Xiaohong Jiang, Future University Hakodate
  • Hirotsugu Kakugawa, Osaka University
  • Yoshiaki Katayama, Nagoya Institute of Technology
  • Michihiro Koibuchi, National Institute of Informatics
  • Anissa Lamani, Kyushu University
  • Guoqiang Li, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
  • Yamin Li, Hosei University
  • Ami Marowka Bar-Ilan, University
  • Eiji Miyano, Kyushu Institute of Technology
  • Hirotaka Ono, Kyushu University
  • Sudeep Pasricha, Colorado State University
  • Franck Petit, LiP6 CNRS-INRIA UPMC Sorbonne Universités
  • Lavanya Ramapantulu, National University of Singapore
  • Nicola Santoro, Carleton University
  • Pradip Srimani, Clemson University
  • Wei Sun, Data61/CSIRO
  • Yasuhiko Takenaga, The University of Electro-Communications
  • Jerry Trahan, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge
  • Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya, Osaka University
  • Jiangtao Yin, CISCO
  • Xin Zhou, Jiangxi Science and Technology Normal Unive


  • TBA


Any inquiry concerning the workshop may be sent to apdcm17@cs.hiroshima-u.ac.jp.


  • IJNC (International Journal of Networking and Computing)
  • CANDAR (International Symposium on Computing and Networking)
apdcm2017.txt · Last modified: 2017/01/12 10:07 by nakano
Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license: CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki